5 Places to Never store your products

Hello my favorite beauty obsessed individuals. Today I felt the need to whip out the warning rules of the beauty world. I have been meaning to put this up a longggg time ago but I just kept forgetting. Sorry it took me so long to save your life. But I am here with the product life raft to save the day.

Now I know for most of us, storage is scarce these days especially with the economy. Seems like apartments are getting smaller and the rent is just keep hiking up to the sky. It’s like wanting a pair of Sam Edelman leather thigh high boots and only being able to afford a pair of adidas slip ons. Tragic I know, I know. When it comes to small spaces and trying to create proper storage for life, I understand the stuggle. When living in NYC, I witnessed first hand the retail price of a closet.

Although space can be an issue, there are just some places beauty products should not live. Wheather you love high end or drug store, no one wants to throw away a product before its expiration date. This is the simple list that I have compiled. I’m sure there are other areas. If you know of any other places you should not store your products, comment bellow.

windowsill

Windowsills are a great place to store books, figurines, cats. But not a place for your beauty products, Specifically perfumes. The light can change the scent of a fragrance, and can even cause it to spoil. The sun can also cause foundations to oxidize, melt lipsticks, and even dry out pencil and gel products prematurely.

Bathroom

In college I always seem girls keep their beauty products on the bathroom sink. I then realized that my mom does it as well. For the love of all things pigment, so not do this. Your bathroom is constantly in a warm moist (gosh I hate that word, moist eek) breeding ground for bacteria. and your beloved Charlotte Tilbury micro powder that you just ripped open the box is now becoming a rapid growing petri dish. I know this sounds a bit harsh but these things go on your face and near your eyes so it’s best to be safe.

Fridge

Now there is a few exceptions to this rule. If you are to repair a lipstick, make a melted lipstick solid again, sealed under eye or face sheet masks, or to prolong the life of you nail polish. That’s probably the only reasons to use a fridge for makeup. And even with that, the lipstick is should only be placed in there for a short period of time. Have you ever put a cut onion in the fridge and the next day the whole fridge smells like onion and foods even taste like it too? Yeah this can happen to you makeup as well. Food smells and chemical releases can transfer to your beauty products. Not to mention that green pepper that you forgot about in the back of the fridge out of eyesight is now growing penicillin is not good for anything let alone you $40 Laura Mercier loose setting powder. Yuck unless you like your face to smell like left over Indian Curry.

Near heaters

Near a heater is horrible for your cream products including lipsticks. Also glass products like face oils and moisturizers will start to lose active ingredients, separate, and begin to smell. What’s the point of forking over money for something that doesn’t work or a holy grail that isn’t performing like it should. We all have that regret drawer and no one wants to add to that pile of disappointment.

Car

Now I pretty much live out of my care, but I know not to keep my makeup in there. It all started with my favorite Lancôme lipstick in the shade Trendy Mauve that fell out of my purse and ended up in the floor unnoticed by me and by the time I got back into my car that beautiful brand new shade was a goner and I was out $23. Of course I replaced it but not without kicking myself enough to my cardio in for the week. There was no saving it or my wallet in that tragic incident.

Alright folks that all I have for right now. Now remember, say no to pink eye and cleanliness is next to godliness!! Just kidding, just keep it sanitary so you can stay out or the emergency room. Makeup is suppose to be fun, not turn into the next plague.

Smooches

Kim B

 

One thought on “5 Places to Never store your products

Leave a Reply

